My Portland Cliche

3 years ago I moved to Portland, OR.  I wanted to work for a non-profit organization as so many idealistic people like myself who relocate to Portland wish to do.  After a month of looking for work (I’m too impatient to have held out for longer) I chose a different Portland cliché and ventured into self employment.  A passionate home cook with a lot of resourcefulness and what I believe to be general good taste, I turned an idea that had been brewing for over a year into a popular food cart.

DLR_6527 photo by David Reamer

During the year that we were open there were just under 650 food carts registered with the city and within less than 4 months we were listed as one of Portland Monthly Magazine’s Top 40 Food Carts.  It was utterly exciting and incredibly gratifying to know that my business partner and I had created a successful product and brand in a city FILLED with foodies and designers.

I believe that resourcefulness was one reason why Brown Chicken Brown Cow was a success.  The entire cost including the remodel, kitchen equipment, permits and initial inventory was a small fraction (around 1/10) the cost of some of our neighboring carts.  This low cost was achieved by reusing and reclaiming as many materials as possible and bartering for labor whenever we could.

exterior

This is the trailer before.  It was a 16′ Aladdin trailer, made in Oregon.

before interior2

The original wood panelling and turquoise appliances inspired the final color scheme.

before interior

We gutted the interior down to the rotted framing and sub-flooring.  We installed new OSB flooring and 100% recycled plastic siding (for it’s waterproof properties) on the walls.  The floor and walls were the only new materials that were used in the remodel.  All paint, lumber, fixtures and built in shelves were found at the Rebuilding Center and ReStore.

  gutted

heather working on floor

_MG_5795

In a matter of about 10 weeks we, along with the help of friends, had renovated a rotting mid 60’s travel trailer into a food cart

030

interior with equipment

IMG_0571

We were in operation for a year and enjoyed every minute of it (well, almost every minute…self employment is tough!).  We have since sold the food cart and moved onto other ventures.  This was my first real design project in reuse and the results were better than I could have ever imagined.  I’m thrilled to share it with you here!

2 responses to “My Portland Cliche

  1. Hi, ran across your blog on face book. Are you guys located in Denton? My husband and I would love to talk to you guys about a few things. We own bookish coffee in town and thinking about a storefront in the future and or a coffee cart. We have thought about converting a van or a trailer. What is best way to contact you!?
    Cheers
    Emily rozell

    • Hi Emily!
      Thanks so much for reaching out. I recently relocated back to Denton and was so thrilled that there was a local coffee roaster in town! I believe actually we were acquaintances a long time ago through a mutual friend, but a VERY long time has passed since middle school 😉
      I would love to talk to you and your husband about your plans and any possible way that I can help you in this exciting new venture. I am excited to help Denton grow with style!
      You can e-mail me at heather@fabrefab.com.
      Best,
      Heather Gregory

Leave a comment